Clarion West Anniversary – Ursula K. Le Guin is AWESOME!

Howdy!

Woooooo – a very busy last several days it has been, but interesting and productive indeed…

On Saturday night, my friend Giannina and I ventured out to the anniversary celebration for NW writer’s organization, Clarion West. They’ve been nurturing budding Sci-Fi authors for the past 30 years and Saturday night was an entertaining tribute to their history, work and to the many amazing authors who have participated in their workshops through the years. The feature of the evening was a very engaging, endearing and just plain awesome discussion between Sci-Fi authors, Vonda N. McIntyre(Clarion West founder) and… Ursula K. Le Guin!!!

Both women have such wonderful and impressive bodies of work, but I have to admit to having a special fondness for Ursula K. Le Guin. The worlds she has created and the characters and ideas she has introduced have been absolutely inspiring to me. The way she is able to weave together such a complex world, yet make it so accessible to a wide variety of readers completely blows me away. I’m just as engaged reading her work now as I was as a child, but on different levels and with new insight. To be able to someday create that type of experience for a reader would be a dream come true.

The conversation between the two women was enjoyable in so many ways. They are both so quick-witted and well-spoken – I’m pretty sure I sat there the whole time with a goofy grin on my face listening to them chat.  They’ve both also first-hand experienced and directly participated in so much of the literary development of the last several decades, Science Fiction in particular. Ursula K. Le Guin is 82 years old and it was so fascinating to hear her take on how women in particular have developed in the world of writing – and so utterly inspiring. To say I was motivated at the end of the evening would be a total understatement.

If you’re not familiar with the work of these amazing authors, please do yourself a favor and check them out.  A few of my favorite Ursula K. Le Guin books are:

  • The Left Hand of Darkness
  • The Lathe of Heaven
  • The Dispossessed

Fans of Star Trek and Star Wars might recognize Vonda N. McIntyre’s work with these novels:

  • The Entropy Effect (Book 2 – Star Trek, The Original Series)
  • Enterprise: The First Adventure (Star Trek, The Original Series)
  • The Crystal Star (Star Wars)

Happy reading!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s